Voters First: a Redistricting Reform Town Hall - Grand Rapids

Voters Not Politicians, the nonpartisan, volunteer-driven organization working to end partisan redistricting in Michigan, is proud to host a town hall with three members of California's Independent Redistricting Commission. Come learn from the first independent citizen-lead redistricting commission in the country!

The California process has been a major success, resulting in increased voter turnout and opening the doors to less-partisan politicians from both parties, leading to bipartisan cooperation and solutions that have breathed new life into the state – a big reason for the state’s extraordinary economic performance in the last decade.

Join us to hear the commissioners share their experiences. They'll discuss how the commission was created, how they set a policy for public engagement, how the commission came together and worked to consensus on the maps, and the outcome of the process. They'll take your questions, too!

We'll be in the Loosemore Auditorium of GVSU's DeVos Center. Admission is free, and all Michiganders are welcome (including your young ones)! However, space is limited, so please RSVP.

To share this event with someone, send them the address of this page, or the following Facebook link:

For more information about California's Citizens Redistricting Commission, please go to


January 25, 2018 at 7pm - 8:30pm
Loosemore Auditorium at GVSU's DeVos Center
401 W Fulton
Grand Rapids, MI 49504
United States
Google map and directions
Robert Weir Sherry Opalka Elizabeth Boessenkool Julie Leavitt Kenneth Peregon Char Kruzich Mary Ann Laurell Sonya Hughes Sue Ann Hook Chris Hoovler Judy Huxmann Jim Craig Laurel Grimes Horman Carolyn Madden Mike Arents Stephen Madden Eugene Biegelman Anonymous Garnet Lewis Julie Ridl Nicole Appel Reer Jill Stallard-Sames Corrie Robbins Sallt Hadden Wesley Watson Natalie Kerby Susan Johnson Laura Hoekstra Denavvia Mojet Kevin J Young Young Russell Radford Susanne Buchau Susie Sefton Cynthia Mader Nancy Owens Nancy Glass Jacob Smaby David W McShane Red Hodeo Sherrill Vore Paul Vanderhorst Rose Marie Stevenson Pam Olsen August Treu Carol Howell Theresa Chaplin Randy Reed Magdalena Sofia Rivera

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

Showing 83 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Must Read Articles