Voters First: a Redistricting Reform Town Hall - Lansing

Voters Not Politicians, the nonpartisan, volunteer-driven organization working to end partisan redistricting in Michigan, is proud to host a town hall with three members of California's Independent Redistricting Commission. Come learn from the first independent citizen-lead redistricting commission in the country!

The California process has been a major success, resulting in increased voter turnout and opening the doors to less-partisan politicians from both parties, leading to bipartisan cooperation and solutions that have breathed new life into the state – a big reason for the state’s extraordinary economic performance in the last decade.

Join us to hear the commissioners share their experiences. They'll discuss how the commission was created, how they set a policy for public engagement, how the commission came together and worked to consensus on the maps, and the outcome of the process. They'll take your questions, too!

We'll be in the Auditorium at the Downtown Lansing Library. Admission is free, and all Michiganders are welcome (including your young ones)! However, space is limited, so please RSVP.

To share this event with someone, send them the address of this page, or the following Facebook link:

For more information about California's Citizens Redistricting Commission, please go to


January 24, 2018 at 7pm - 8:30pm
Downtown Lansing Library
401 S Capitol Ave
Lansing, MI 48933
United States
Google map and directions
Marilyn Wade Ronda K Bozek-Smith Shirley Herrick Cathy DenHartog Purdum Dick Kohfeldt Alli Eccleton Peter Bagley Sam Ziebell Mary Jo Putrow Byron Haskins Laura Volkmann Olivia Ghislain Jack Pyle Kathy Booth Cyrus Miller Bruce Billedeaux Quess Derman Mary Pollock Rex Hauser Judith Entenman Kathy Watchorn Deb Bennett Tina Brander Amy Wild Tyson Cowles Rita Turner-Sheerin Algeria Wilson Kurt Guter Lauren Patterson Diane Levy Guillermo Z Lopez Johanna Balzer Jane Warren Sally Palmer Tammie Lewis Fred Fry Cathy Kiernan Nettie Walker Wood Barbara Hamm Geoffrey Gamble Liz Meyers David Betts Susan Lindemer Kathleen Curell Albert Lewis Jackie Doig Ronald Hoffman David Hopkinson

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

Showing 69 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Must Read Articles